Michigan Marijuana Possession Lawyers
MICHIGAN POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA LAWYER
Michigan marijuana possession charge defense lawyers. Possession and use of marijuana is so pervasive that virtually everyone is familiar with the terminology: ‘weed’, ‘pot’, ‘joint’, ‘roach’, ‘blunt’, etc… Marijuana has become part of the language of American culture. Medical Marijuana has even been legalized in Michigan. So, no big if you get arrested with a little ‘weed’, right? Wrong.
A marijuana-related criminal charge can have serious consequences on your life including jail time, loss of your driver’s license, drug testing and probation. Moreover, a drug conviction can cause long-term damage to your ability to obtain employment. Mr. Buehner has been able to help many clients charged with marijuana offenses avoid jail, keep their licenses and avoid having a criminal record.
If you’ve been charged with any misdemeanor or felony marijuana charge, Jeffrey Buehner is the lawyer you need fighting for you. Mr. Buehner is a former Narcotics Prosecutor for the Oakland County Prosecutor’s Office and a former instructor at the Oakland Police Academy where he taught Fourth Amendment search and seizure law. If there’s a defense to be found, Mr. Buehner knows how to identify it and how to use it to your benefit.
Call Jeffrey Buehner for a free phone consultation at (248) 865-9640 or fill out the Free Contact Form.
Use Of Marijuana
Using or possessing marijuana is illegal under Michigan law unless you have been issued and possess a registry identification card under the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act.
Use of Marijuana is a separate crime from Possession of Marijuana. Use of Marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $100 fine. A more serious crime is Use of Marijuana in a public or private park, which can even be deemed a felony at a judge’s discretion and is punishable by up to 2 years in prison and a $2,000 fine.
Michigan Possession Of Marijuana Charge
Under Michigan state law, Possession of Marijuana in any amount is a misdemeanor that carries up to a $2,000 fine and a maximum of a year in jail. However, if it is a second offense, it can be charged as a felony punishable by up to 2 years in prison and a $4,000 fine.
Manufacturing Or Growing Marijuana In Michigan
Unless otherwise exempted under the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act, cultivation of marijuana in any amount is a felony. Manufacturing Marijuana Less than 20 plants (or less than 5 Kilograms) is a felony punishable by up to 4 years in state prison and a $20,000 fine. Growing more than 20 plants but less 200 Plants (or 5 to 45 Kilograms) is a felony punishable by up to 7 years in prison, and $500,000, respectively. The final category of cultivating 200 or more marijuana plants (or 45 Kilograms or more) is a felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a $10,000,000 fine (yes, $10 Million dollars!).
Michigan Possession With Intent To Deliver Marijuana
Possession with Intent to Deliver Marijuana Less than 5 Kilograms is a felony punishable by up to 4 years in state prison and a $20,000 fine. Possession with Intent to Deliver 5 to 45 Kilograms is a felony punishable by up to 7 years in prison, and $500,000. Possession with Intent to Deliver 45 Kilograms or more is a felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a $10,000,000 fine.
It may be possible to avoid having a drug conviction on your criminal record, avoid jail and keep you driver license. Call our Michigan Criminal Lawyers today for a free consultation (248) 865-9640 or fill out the Contact Form.
|Marijuana Use||Misdemeanor||90 days||$100|
|1st Offense||Misdemeanor||1 year||$2,000|
|2nd Offense||Felony||2 years||$4,000|
|In a park||Misdemeanor or Felony||2 years||$2,000|
|Manufacture, Delivery or Possession with Intent to Deliver|
|Less than 20 Plants||Felony||4 years||$20,000|
|20 to 200 Plants||Felony||7 years||$500,000|
|200 or more Plants||Felony||15 years||$10,000,000|
|Less than 5 Kilograms||Felony||4 years||$20,000|
|5 to 45 Kilograms||Felony||7 years||$500,000|
|45 Kilograms or more||Felony||15 years||$10,000,000|
|License sanctions for any marijuana charge|
|1st Offense||6 month suspension|
|2nd Offense in 7 years||1 year suspension|